Go Hug Your Dad

June 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

Given that summer internships typically begin in early June, it is rare for me to be home and able to spend Father’s Day with my dad. This year is no exception, and sadly, I will not be able to spend today with the best guy in my life.

When I was little and we were still living in San Francisco, my mom, a television reporter at the time, often worked on the weekends. During these days on our own, my dad and I were always setting off on some adventure. An avid cyclist, my dad would hook me into one of those baby bike trailers and I would sit happily for however long the ride. We went on car trips all over Northern California and even made the drive down South to take in the magnificent California coastline. These adventures, of course, always involved a food component: fresh fish tacos from a stand at the beach, cheese pizza from my favorite institution at the time, Chuckie Cheese’s, or a simple peanut butter and jelly sandwich enjoyed in the backseat of my dad’s red Ford. These tastes are what I remember from our trips and it was on these very adventures that my passion for food began.

My entire family appreciates my experiments in the kitchen but there is no one who enjoys my baking adventures more than my dad. I attribute my sweet tooth to him, not my mother, who on our trip to Italy together often chose to forego gelato after dinner for a slice of pizza instead.

So, in honor of my dad, despite the fact that I cannot be with him today, I decided to spend my day just as if I were at home: baking. Whenever I ask my dad if he has any sweet requests, he always asks for this classic cookie. So, here is my favorite recipe for my dad’s treat of choice. It’s simple, but for me and my dad, nothing beats a classic.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
Adapted from this recipe

This recipe makes about 70 cookies! I halved it and froze the rest of the dough. It’s always good to have frozen cookie dough on hand in case of a sweet tooth emergency, right?

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

Mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and oats. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixer. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Mix in the vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture then the chocolate chips and walnuts.

Place tablespoonfuls of dough 2 inches apart on a buttered baking sheet.

Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Go Hug Your Dad

  • Richard says:

    congrats on the internship Katie! I love the name of your new blog. i’ll definitely have to try some of your recipes soon. hope you’re well and I hope to see you soon! – your cousin, Richard.

  • Liz Calhoun says:

    Hi Katie,
    Great blog! I love the story about you and your dad on the bike in CA. Keep up the good work.

    This is my favorite cookie! I have made it so much I know the recipe by heart and I have sweetened it even more by using up to a cup of raisins instead of the walnuts. I freeze the baked cookies too so that we eat them a little slower (not much though- they are good cold too). I figure that they are healthy because of the oats and raisins. Ha!

    Your dad’s cousin,
    Liz

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Go Hug Your Dad at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

