A Vermont-y Day

June 20, 2011 § 2 Comments

 

I was up early today! I wanted to go to a morning Bikram class since I didn’t have work. Class was good, although I felt a little bit dizzy in the middle, probably because I forgot to hydrate enough last night. When I got home I was totally starving and craving this new cereal I bought yesterday.

I love love LOVE ginger. When I am at a sushi restaurant I’ll eat all of mine and my companion’s too, and if that runs out, I’ll ask for more. I was so happy when I saw this cereal at the market. It’s definitely my new favorite! I mixed it with some strawberries I got at the farmer’s market this weekend, a banana and a plain Oikos. Yum.

Our first stop was the Cabot Creamery, a dairy farm near Stowe, Vermont. There were cheese tastings galore. I loved going to cheese tastings when I was abroad in France and was so happy that Sam and Alex decided to take me here. I have only been in Vermont for a week, but my Vermont bucket list is already a mile long. My two roommates, Sam and Alex, are students at the University of Vermont and have lived here their entire lives. I had been talking about all of the “Vermont-y” things I want to do and they kindly offered to take the day to show me around.

Our next stop was the Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory. Holy yum. So many treats. I really like this chocolate because it is so creamy. Their chocolate-covered pretzels have a thick coating and it almost tastes like you’re getting equal parts chocolate and pretzel.

The Cold Hollow Cider Mill was next. We could smell freshly baking cider donuts from the parking lot. It reminded me so much of fall, my favorite time of year, that I almost forgot we are near the end of June. I snooped around in the kitchen and found this delicious crumble –

More samples!

Afterwards, we stopped in downtown Stowe to poke around in some of the shops. While we were walking, Sam and Alex remembered going to “the best playground EVER” here as kids, and we set out to find the supposedly magnificent place. Sadly, when we arrived we found that the old playground had been torn down. However, a brand new playground had taken its place so we were still able to play and run around.

On our way home, we stopped at a glassblowing studio and actually got to see the artist making a bowl. The three of us sat watching, mesmerized, for probably 20 minutes. Very cool.

Thanks to my nice roommates for helping me begin tackling my bucket list! I think my next stop will be the Ben & Jerry’s Factory…thoughts?

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to A Vermont-y Day

  • What a thoroughly delightful day! And so very “Vermont-y” as you say. I agree that exploring an area through discovery of its culinary treasures is deliciously illuminating! Can’t wait to try that green bean recipe… yummy AND nutritious!

  • Obsessed with you, bikram (minus the lack of hydration!), cereal, and Vermont. I need to plan my visit soon! Miss you so much and can’t wait to read more. Love, Lin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Vermont-y Day at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

