Farmer’s Market Green Beans

June 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

This past Saturday I spent the morning exploring the Burlington Farmer’s Market. Located in City Hall Park, the market was filled with fresh summer produce, local dairy products, maple treats and a lot of delicious looking prepared foods that made me wish I hadn’t already eaten breakfast. I came home with a huge bag of green beans. I don’t know how to cook green beans. I love the vegetable, but when it comes to my summer greens, I have always chosen to make asparagus instead.

After some quick research online, I set out to work. I prepared these very simply. First, I chopped off the rough ends.

Then, in a pot of boiling salted water, I blanched them for a couple of minutes, just until they were crisp.

Afterwards, I threw them in a sauté pan with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. This simple preparation made these green beans sing. I’m excited to have leftovers to pack in my lunchbox this week!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Farmer’s Market Green Beans at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

