Burlington Love

June 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

Whenever I come home from being out, the first thing I do is rave to my roommates about the beautiful weather. I think after the fifth time I came home rhapsodizing about the sunshine and lack of humidity, I finally realized that it is pretty much like this every day and therefore do not always have to provide a running commentary.

After work, I am always eager to get out of the house and soak it all up. Today, I had just been planning on finding a sunny spot near home and reading, but I started walking and ended up at the waterfront that borders Lake Champlain.

The waterfront is a great place to hang out and sun, or just walk around and enjoy the view. Did you know that in Vermont they call soft-serve ice cream “creamees”?

It was pretty warm today so I cooled off post-walk with a soy iced latte.

On the way back home, I stopped by Borders. I am a recent Kindle convert and even though I absolutely love it, I still like to go to the bookstore sometimes to browse the old-fashioned way. I also really like to spend time in the cookbook section:

When I got home I decided to make lunch to pack for the next few days of work. I’ve been really into making quinoa salads recently. Last week, I made Jenna’s black bean quinoa salad and it was dee-lish. I bought a lot of produce this weekend and needed to use it all up! What better use for random produce in my fridge then a summery salad?

Bagged Lunch Quinoa Salad

Serves 2

1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup water
1 tomato, diced
1/2 of a white onion, chopped
1/2 cup corn
~ 1/4 zucchini, sliced

I cooked the quinoa with the water, bringing it all to a boil and then simmering for about fifteen minutes.

Then, I chopped up my assortment of veggies. Some people (my mom) think it’s weird but I really like eating zucchini raw.

I mixed up all of my veggies.

Finally, I added the quinoa, mixed it all together and drizzled the whole thing with a little bit of olive oil and sea salt. I split it into containers for work the next couple days and voilà!

Tagged:

§ One Response to Burlington Love

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Burlington Love at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

