Maple Peanut Butter Granola

June 24, 2011 § 1 Comment

You should really, really make this granola. I don’t like to brag, but it is just too good. I have a standard recipe for granola that I like to tweak sometimes. Usually I just switch up what kinds of nuts and seeds I use, or the type of dried fruit I add, but today I was feeling more creative. I usually make this with honey, but seeing as I am in Vermont and there is grade A maple syrup in our house, I figured I would go this route. I also added peanut butter to this mix and I swear it made it the best batch of granola I’ve ever made. I could barely wait until it had cooled until I poured myself a bowl with milk. Warm cereal is pretty weird but it was totally worth it.

Maple Peanut Butter Granola

6 cups rolled old fashioned oats
1 cup peanuts
1 cup sliced almonds
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
A pinch of salt
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup peanut butter (organic is better because it is drippy – easier to mix!)
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, mix the oats, peanuts, almonds, cinnamon, coconut, salt and cranberries.
In a separate bowl, mix together the maple syrup and the peanut butter.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry and mix until thoroughly combined (I used my hands).

Spread the mixture on a rimmed baking sheet.

Bake for about 30-35 minutes and make sure to stir the granola in the oven every so often so the peanut butter doesn’t burn. When the granola is golden brown, take it out of the oven. Let it sit and when cool, store in an airtight container.

Feel free to add dark chocolate chips – a cup would do the trick. You won’t regret it!

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Maple Peanut Butter Granola

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maple Peanut Butter Granola at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

