Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita

June 27, 2011 § 1 Comment

One of my favorite things to do when I am at home is make family dinner. Sunday night is usually our family dinner night and last night I wanted to make dinner for the people who are becoming my Vermont family. When I asked Sam and Alex what kind of food they liked, they both insisted that they liked everything. After a little more probing, Alex admitted that he didn’t like seafood. Or green vegetables. “But we both love steak!” they said. This gave me little to work with since I am not a huge fan of red meat and my idea of a delicious meal is salmon and roasted veggies. After racking my brain for a bit, I decided on pizza. Growing up, we loved to do “make your own pizza” and I was excited to relive one of my favorite childhood memories. I wanted to make my own dough but since we don’t have a standing mixer I bought pre-made instead. However, I did make pizza sauce for the first time and it was so simple and easily better than any pizza sauce I’ve ever gotten in the store.

This recipe is fun to whip up with others since everyone can get involved, especially when it comes to toppings. Tomatoes are absolutely delicious in the summer time, making this a perfect meal for a summer night.

Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita
Adapted from epicurious
Ingredients

1 refrigerated whole wheat pizza dough

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 teaspoon crushed fennel seeds

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

8 ounces fresh mozzarella, diced

1/3 cup chopped fresh basil

Directions
Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
Roll your pizza dough into a 12×8 inch rectangle on a baking sheet.
Heat your oil until hot in a skillet.
Add the tomatoes and cook until they look a bit charred and are beginning to break down, about seven minutes.
Transfer the tomatoes and their juices to a large bowl. Add the garlic, the fennel seeds and the crushed red pepper. Using a large wooden spoon or the back of a fork, mix it all together, crushing the tomatoes but still leaving large chunks. Season with salt and pepper.

Sauté the mushrooms in the pan you used to char the cherry tomatoes. Cook until brown on both sides.

Dice the mozzarella.

In a medium bowl, mix the mozzarella and the basil. Sprinkle the cheese and basil mixture evenly over the pizza dough.

Spoon on the tomato mixture over top but still leave some cheese uncovered. Place on mushrooms and any other toppings.

Bake the pizza until the crust is golden brown and crisp, about 25 minutes.

You will know your pizza is ready because it will smell like garlicky pizza heaven.

Eat piping hot out of the oven. Serve on plates if you can wait before digging in.

The pizza was supposed to serve four, but the three of us managed to gobble it up in ten minutes. I wish we had leftovers!
Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita

  • Yummy yummy! Did you know that I have made my own pizza dough but never, not once made my own pizza sauce? Sounds like its about time I did, thanks to your delectable recipe and easy instructions. I am serious about retiring as the family cook. You have the job if you want it. Oh, wait, youre still a student. Love you! Momma

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

