Mom and Molly Weekend II

July 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Yesterday we started the day the way I think every Sunday should begin: brunch. Penny ‘Cluse Cafe is famous for having the best breakfast and lunch fare around, and we got up early to beat the brunch rush.


I ordered scrambled eggs with broccoli and garlic.

Molly ordered a combo plate with pancakes, eggs over easy and sausage,

and my mom, who was in the mood for lunch, got an egg salad sandwich and orzo on the side.

When we order out we always share and everything was very tasty – the place lived up to the hype! I think Sunday brunch is my favorite meal – thoughts?

We spent the rest of the afternoon at Shelburne Museum. Located on a huge plot of land, this museum houses over 150,000 works in different locations on the grounds.

There are a good number of Monet paintings (including my favorite!) and there was a fantastic fashion exhibit on display. The grounds and gardens are so beautiful and for a bit, I felt like I was walking around Musée Rodin. I love museums where the outdoor is integrated with what’s inside.

There was also a carousel and we decided to ride!

For dinner on our last night together, we chose American Flatbread. A Vermont institution, this pizza place emphasizes the use of local and organic ingredients. We had a bit of a wait but it was completely worth it.

We ordered a veggie mushroom pizza and also one of the specials with smoked salmon, creamy chevre, red onion and capers. I didn’t expect to love the salmon but it was incredible. I liked it even more than the veggie which was my pick!

Fireworks were at the waterfront at 9:30.

It was packed and for good reason – this was probably the best fireworks display I’ve ever seen. They lasted a whole half hour and the sheer amount of fireworks and variation was spectacular. These are my favorite:

Burlington celebrates the Fourth of July on the night of the third, so my family left today. After a jam-packed weekend it was nice to have the day to get ready for a busy week ahead, but I miss them already.

For everyone celebrating today, have a happy and safe Fourth of July!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mom and Molly Weekend II at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

