Jenna’s Babaganoush Soup

July 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I love greek food. Fresh fish, veggies, olive oil – I could be on the Mediterranean diet no problem. When I saw a recipe for babaganoush soup by Jenna on one of my favorite food blogs, I was intrigued. When I realized I had an eggplant in my fridge I hadn’t the slightest idea what to do with, I was sold. I know it is slightly crazy making soup since it is summer and I don’t have air conditioning, but once I saw the recipe, I couldn’t forget about it. Babaganoush soup! What a brilliant idea! It was simply too exciting not to make right away.

Babaganoush Soup

Adapted from this recipe

Time: 1 hour

 Ingredients

1 eggplant

1 red pepper

1/2 white onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 1/2 cups water

1/4 cup tahini (sesame paste)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne (or to taste)

Directions: 

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Slice your eggplant, leaving the skin on.

Lay out your slices and press down on their tops with a paper towel. Let sit for twenty minutes.

Roughly chop your red pepper.

After twenty minutes, dice your eggplant.

Spray a baking sheet and then lay the diced eggplant and red pepper on top. Salt. Bake for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add your onions and cook until they begin to soften, about five minutes. Add the garlic after five minutes and saute for another minute.

Add the water, the roasted eggplant and the red pepper. Stir in your tahini, salt and cumin. Bring the pot to a simmer. Stir.

Transfer to your blender and blend to your preferred consistency. I like my soup almost smooth but still with some texture from the vegetables. Serves 3.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jenna’s Babaganoush Soup at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

