Summer is for Smoothies

July 7, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’ve never been particularly fond of smoothies. When it comes to frozen treats, ice cream has always taken first place. My sister, on the other hand, loves these concoctions. When we were in Hawaii last month, she got them all the time with the amazing fresh fruit the islands have to offer. When I tried one that she had gotten with peanut butter, I realized I was missing out. Green Monster Smoothies have gotten very popular in the blog world this past year. The basic idea of the Green Monster is that you combine a good bunch of spinach with milk, some sort of fruit and ice. I am the new owner of a wonderful Cuisinart blender and I wanted to put it to good use! What I’ve discovered is that I’m actually a smoothie lover and the Green Monster has become my breakfast of choice, even replacing my favorite overnight oats (at least for the time being). Here are two smoothie recipes that I have been making this past week. These leave me energized and feeling like Popeye for the work day ahead. These are recipe bases and can be customized to your liking, depending on fruit and milk preferences and add-ins like nut butters and flax or chia seeds.


Adapted from here

Cantaloupe Green Monster

1 cup almond milk

1 tablespoon flax seed

2 handfuls spinach

1 cup cantaloupe

1/2 frozen banana, peeled

3 ice cubes

Pour your milk into the blender. Add the flax seed, spinach, cantaloupe and banana.

Blend for about one minute. Add in your ice cubes and blend to your preferred consistency.

Here’s another variation:

Nut Butter Banana Smoothie

1 cup almond milk

1 tablespoon flax seed

1 tablespoon nut butter

1 frozen banana, peeled

2 handfuls spinach

3 ice cubes

I love munching on fruit so much that I never thought I would enjoy drinking it but I am a total smoothie convert. Try it! This makes for a great breakfast or cool-off snack in the afternoon.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Summer is for Smoothies

  • Euna Kwon says:

    What gorgeous pictures and what an amazing way to drink your vitamins in a delicious and utterly nutritious way! I am inspired to put my blender to good use and create these concoctions tomorrow for the whole family! Will has a baseball game tomorrow and can use the Popeye muscle building nutrients to whack a homerun. When he does, I’ll let you know and credit your recipe…Thanks a BUNCH! Love, Mama

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer is for Smoothies at Cookies and Kimchi.

meta

